New Jersey Owned and Operated Since 1910
Newark Wire Works has fabricated, erected, and serviced satisfied customers since the company’s beginning in 1910. Our plant was first located at 676 South 14th St. in Newark New Jersey. We manufactured wire partitions that were used in manufacturing plants during the industrial revolution for separating departments and to secure high value parts. We also made wire mesh partitions for Armories around northern New Jersey to secure arms and vehicles as shown in the pictures below. Also shown are the wire mesh partitions in square meshes for bank enclosures and office partitions that we manufactured, to separate money counters and accounting professionals. We manufactured window guards that protected most of the northern New Jersey school districts, especially Newark and Jersey City, factories, power plants, train stations and bus terminals. There are guards still standing on buildings that we installed in the early 1910’s and 20’s, which is a testament to our quality and product durability. Since we have the more experience in this industry than anyone in the New York – New Jersey metropolitan area, we were contracted for the National Parks Service in 1986-1988 for the restoration of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Please call us for your next history making project.
Newark Wire Works Inc. was founded in 1910 by Oscar Froehlich. They had a small building approximately 2000 square feet located at 676 South 14th Street near Springfield Avenue in Newark, NJ. Shortly thereafter his son-in-law Walter and son Oscar Jr. joined him. They worked together until the early 1960’s. At that point George Klacik, then owner of Eagle Wire and Brass purchased Newark Wire Works from Oscar Froehlich Jr. and merged the two companies. Mr. Klacik over the years also purchased Industrial Wire Works and Acme Wire Works, consolidating the companies into the same location in Newark. They expanded the building in the mid 1960’s to 13,000sq.ft.taking up a lot spanning the depth of a city block.
In 1982 Joseph L. Spellman purchased Newark Wire Works Inc. from Mr. Klacik and was joined by his son Joseph P. Spellman (JP), who took ownership of the company in 1987 upon his father’s early passing. In 1999 the company was expanding and needed larger facilities to accommodate the large projects they were manufacturing, so Newark Wire Works relocated to its present location in Edison, NJ. Their new facility is approximately 24,000 square feet and is more modern for fabricating and storing large projects and inventory. It allowed the company to expand even further.